Dragon Ball Xenoverse: Guidebook Mentions 47 Playable Characters

In Japan, players will be able to purchase a guidebook for Dragon Ball Xenoverse. Japanese retailers such as Amazon Japan have begun to list the guidebook for pre-order purchase and the description mentions something interesting – there will be 47 playable characters, 50 parallel quests (which can be considered side missions), 200 different skills, and around 400 different pieces of clothing/accessories to choose from for created characters.

The number that may surprise you (as it does us) are the 47 playable characters as Bandai Namco had stated over 70 playable characters last month. If we had to speculate, it’s possible 47 might not include all of the alternate forms of characters (for example Goku, Super Saiyan God Goku) or the DLC characters. It also could mean just 47 of however many playable characters there are will be covered in the guidebook. Another scenario, although less likely, but possible is that it might also be a typo, and the final number might be 74 (the descriptions come from the book’s publisher and retailers often present them as is).

Here are the characters we know so far are in the game based on what we’ve seen in screenshots, trailers, and other information presented. Note the list below is NOT final. It’s possible not all of these are playable, some may just be non-playable characters that contribute to the game’s story (for example Tokitoki), and there may be others not yet revealed.

You’ll also note a few characters are not included such as Android 16, Android 19, and Android 20. The reason is we at Anime Games Online don’t recall seeing them in any official media (we may have missed it, so please let us know). Where we have seen them represented are in costumes that can be equipped to characters through hidden data. Of course, what’s presented in hidden data does not mean it will make it to the final game. Also, for our information reporting purposes, equipping costumes for created characters is not the same as having the original characters playable from the Dragon Ball Z series as standalone characters.

  1. Goku (Normal, Kaioken, Super Saiyan, Super Saiyan 2,Super Saiyan 3)
  2. Super Saiyan 4 Goku
  3. Super Saiyan God Goku
  4. Vegeta (Normal, Super Saiyan)
  5. Vegito (Normal, Super Saiyan)
  6. Super Saiyan 4 Gogeta
  7. Kid Gohan
  8. Teen Gohan (Super Saiyan, Super Saiyan 2)
  9. Adult Gohan (Ultimate Gohan)
  10. Future Trunks (Normal, Super Saiyan,Time Patrol)
  11. Kid Trunks
  12. Goten
  13. Gotenks (Normal, Super Saiyan 3)
  14. Raditz
  15. Nappa
  16. Bardock
  17. Piccolo
  18. Videl
  19. Krillin
  20. Tien
  21. Yamcha
  22. Mr. Satan
  23. Appule
  24. Larsberi
  25. Cui
  26. Captain Ginyu
  27. Guldo
  28. Burter
  29. Jeice
  30. Recoome
  31. Frieza 1st Form
  32. Frieza Final Form
  33. Frieza Full Power
  34. Android 17
  35. Android 18
  36. Cell Perfect Form
  37. Super Perfect Cell
  38. Cell Jr.
  39. Saibaman
  40. Majin Buu
  41. Super Buu
  42. Kid Buu
  43. Broly
  44. Mira
  45. Towa
  46. Omega Shenron
  47. Super 17
  48. Beerus
  49. Whis
  50. Demigra
  51. Supreme Kai of Time
  52. Tokitoki
  53. Super Saiyan 4 Vegeta *
  54. GT Trunks *
  55. GT Kid Goku *
  56. Pan *
  57. Jaco the Space Patroller *

* = DLC characters.


Dragon Ball Xenoverse will be making it’s way to the PC, PS4, PS3, Xbox One and Xbox 360. It will offer in-game transformations, characters with the most detailed facial expressions ever seen in the Dragon Ball universe and new cel shaded graphics. Players will be able to create their own character and take it into battle to fight against familiar faces from the world of Dragon Ball and the created characters of other players online. Dragon Ball: Xenoverse is in development by Dimps (the company behind the Budokai series) and will be published by Bandai Namco Games in Japan on February 5th, North America on February 24th, and Europe on February 27th.