Dragon Ball Xenoverse Characters and Races

Dragon Ball Xenoverse is making its way to the PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, Xbox 360, and PC/Steam in early 2015. The game will allow players to take control of their favorite Dragon Ball Z characters and of original characters they can create with a variety of clothing, accessories, and hair styles. With the rumors flying around, many are wondering, which characters are confirmed playable and what races of characters can be created. Anime Games Online has put together a list of characters and races we’ve seen in Dragon Ball Xenoverse thus far based on official screenshots, footage from trailers and the game’s beta.

NOTE: This list is a work in progress and is not final! As more information about the game is announced, Anime Games Online hopes to update this list to accurately represent the game. Characters will be able to transform in-game. Bandai Namco has confirmed transformations will be marked as super/ultimate attacks, just as Goku’s Kaioken was in the game’s beta.

Dragon Ball Xenoverse Playable Characters

  1. Goku (Normal, Kaioken, Super Saiyan, Super Saiyan 2,Super Saiyan 3)
  2. Super Saiyan 4 Goku
  3. Super Saiyan God Goku
  4. Vegeta (Normal, Super Saiyan)
  5. Vegito (Normal, Super Saiyan)
  6. Super Saiyan 4 Gogeta
  7. Kid Gohan
  8. Teen Gohan (Super Saiyan, Super Saiyan 2)
  9. Adult Gohan (Ultimate Gohan)
  10. Future Trunks (Normal, Super Saiyan,Time Patrol)
  11. Kid Trunks
  12. Goten
  13. Gotenks (Normal, Super Saiyan 3)
  14. Raditz
  15. Nappa
  16. Bardock
  17. Piccolo
  18. Videl
  19. Krillin
  20. Tien
  21. Yamcha
  22. Mr. Satan
  23. Appule
  24. Larsberi
  25. Cui
  26. Captain Ginyu
  27. Guldo
  28. Burter
  29. Jeice
  30. Recoome
  31. Frieza 1st Form
  32. Frieza Final Form
  33. Frieza Full Power
  34. Android 17
  35. Android 18
  36. Cell Perfect Form
  37. Super Perfect Cell
  38. Cell Jr.
  39. Saibaman
  40. Majin Buu
  41. Super Buu
  42. Kid Buu
  43. Broly
  44. Mira
  45. Towa
  46. Omega Shenron
  47. Super 17
  48. Beerus
  49. Whis
  50. Demigra

Characters Likely to Not be Playable (Unconfirmed)

These characters are in the game, and although not confirmed, it’s likely they won’t be playable. If it’s announce they are playable, we’ll be sure to update this list!

  1. Supreme Kai of Time
  2. Tokitoki

DLC Characters

These characters will be downloadable content (DLC). Super Saiyan 4 Vegeta will be free day 1 edition DLC and the other characters will be paid DLC.

  1. Super Saiyan 4 Vegeta
  2. GT Trunks
  3. GT Kid Goku
  4. Pan
  5. Jaco the Space Patroller


These characters have been turned into what will be known in the game as “Villianous” in the original story for Dragon Ball Xenoverse by Towa, one of the antagonists. They will also be playable in parallel quests (which are side missions). We don’t recall any confirmation on their playable status in online and offline battles, although we’d be surprised if they are not.

  1. Villainous Vegeta
  2. Villainous Super Saiyan 3 Gotenks
  3. Villainous Ultimate Gohan
  4. Villainous Teen Gohan
  5. Villainous Piccolo
  6. Villainous Mr. Satan
  7. Villainous Raditz
  8. Villainous Frieza (Final Form)
  9. Villainous Frieza (100% Power)
  10. Villainous Android 17
  11. Villainous Android 18
  12. Villainous Cell (Perfect Form)
  13. Villainous Cell (Super Perfect Form)
  14. Villainous Cell Jr.
  15. Villainous Majin Buu
  16. Villainous Super Buu
  17. Villainous Kid Buu
  18. Villainous Beerus

Giant Bosses

These are giant bosses that must be defeated in the game’s story mode and parallel quests.

Dragon Ball Xenoverse Races (and Genders)

Five different races are confirmed to be in Dragon Ball Xenoverse, with three of them having both male and female genders.

  1. Male Earthling
  2. Female Earthling
  3. Male Saiyan
  4. Female Saiyan
  5. Namekian
  6. Frieza’s Race
  7. Male Majin
  8. Female Majin