Dragon Ball Kai Returns April 6th with Buu Saga

Posted on February 17, 2014

After almost three years, Dragon Ball Kai is making it’s return to Japan! The April edition of V-Jump magazine revealed that Sunday, April 6 at 9:00 a.m. on Fuji TV, the “new age of Kai” will begin! That means, Toriko, which currently airs at 9:00 a.m., will be replaced in that time slot to make it a Dragon Ball Z and One Piece (which airs after Toriko) 1-2 punch! For Toriko fans, it’s unclear if that series will be canceled or moved to a new slot.

Dragon Ball Kai (known as Dragon Ball Z Kai in North America) re-creates the original Dragon Ball Z anime series with visuals remastered into HD, a re-recorded soundtrack, and Akira Toriyama’s original Dragon Ball manga more closely. The series ran from 2009 to 2011 in Japan, covering the Saiyan Saga to Cell Saga.

The Dragon Ball Kai Japanese cast recorded the Buu Saga episodes back in November 2012, over a year after the series’ initially ended in Japan.

It’s unclear when Dragon Ball Z Kai will make it’s way to North America exactly. FUNimation, the company behind DBZ in North America, has mentioned they have not begun to dub the series in English, however, English dub voice actors for Goku (Sean Schemmel) and Gohan (Kyle Hebert) both reported they were recording the Buu Saga in April of 2013. Australian anime distributor Madman Entertainment mentioned last November they were looking to release the series in 2014 after dubbing was complete. So again, it’s unknown when the Buu Saga will make it’s way to DVD or TV outside of Japan. In North America, Nicktoons debuted English dubbed episodes from 2010 to 2012 and showed repeats until April 2013. The series now airs on Saban Brands and The CW’s Vortexx programming block on Saturdays. On the home video front, FUNimation finished releasing all episodes from the Saiyan to Cell sagas of Dragon Ball Z Kai on Blu-ray back in 2012. We’ll be sure to keep you updated right here on Anime Games Online on when and how Dragon Ball Z Kai makes it’s return to North America and Australia as soon as the news breaks!

Source: ANN